Ville Mensio

Industrial and Strategic Design
1979, Sweden / Finland

Improving Cruise Ship Crew Cabin Design

The thesis deals with the design of cruise ship crew cabin enhancements and the generation of a new cabin concept that meaningfully distinguishes itself from other crew cabins. The project was undertaken for Aker Yards Cabins (nowadays know as STX Finland Cabins). In this project a new crew cabin concept was created for cruise ship use and the crew cabin environment was made more inviting. The upgrades were designed by taking into consideration three parties; the cruise ship crew, STX Finland Cabins, and their clients, which enabled the final enhancements to be strategically designed.

The final upgrades have been made cosy and logical to use, build and market. The final product characteristics were derived from the user study and from the regulations of the International Labour Organization (ILO) publication and the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) database.
For the strategic design part of the thesis, the Kano model was used for the basis of developing further product strategies. New crew cabin product qualities were created. The new qualities can be used as guideline when designing new crew cabins or enhancing old ones. Some of the product abilities could be implemented immediately to the present crew cabins. Some of the concept properties could be integrated in the near future.

+358 50 347 92 42
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Aaltio, Lauri
Ahonen, Hanna
Austin, Timothy
Auttila, Pieta-Linda
Chernyakevich, Bogdan
Falin, Priska
Göbel, Christian
Heinonmäki, Mari
Hsiao, Lien-Chiu
Huang, Shanfan
Ikonen, Janne
Kaapo, Kaisa Kristiina
Kangasniemi, Salla
Korhonen, Eerika
Koski, Salla
Kuusinen, Marjo
Lee, Bang Jeon
Lepokorpi, Saara
Liukko, Anu
Mansén-Laalo, Marjo
Mensio, Ville
Osborne, Devon
Panasupon, Kompit
Park, Hyunsun 
Piispanen, Tatu
Puoskari, Maija 
Raivio, Päivi 
Riski, Liisa
Salokannen, Satu
Savolainen, Tea

Sistonen, Tia
Takagi, Yuko
Takkinen, Jussi
Tikka, Suvi
Urh, Vasja
Vainiomäki, Katri
Volcoff, William
Väänänen, Sanna